Need help identifying this edged weapon

JPMH1860

Go to solution Solved by Mr. Bushido,

I am trying to help someone figure out what this is. I am no expert when it comes to this stuff which is why I am seeking your help.  As you can see from the picture, it is about 27-28 inches long.  It also has a character stamped/etched into the blade.  The character appears to be Japanese or maybe Chinese, but that is just my guess.

I apologize that the photo is not higher resolution. This was the best I could get.

20220813_14.jpeg

Here is a pretty good close up of the character.

20220813_20.jpg

• 2 weeks later...

I'll take any wild guesses or suggestions of a better place to try to get this item identified.  I'm leaning toward the character being Chinese, but am not sure.

• 7 months later...
  • Solution
Mr. Bushido

Hello.

This character is, as you might guess, a kanji used in China or Japan.

The letter "東" stands for east as a direction, but is often used in personal names as well.

In my opinion, in the case of swords, it is the name of the craftsman.

• 2 weeks later...
On 6/3/2023 at 7:57 AM, Mr. Bushido said:

Hello.

This character is, as you might guess, a kanji used in China or Japan.

The letter "東" stands for east as a direction, but is often used in personal names as well.

In my opinion, in the case of swords, it is the name of the craftsman.

Thank you for the reply. I did end up getting an opinion from someone who was from Japan. She said the character looked to be for the word "east" as you stated. However, she added it looked like it was written by someone who didn't know how to write Japanese characters.

I know virtually nothing about Japanese writing, but the character on the sword does vary from the character you posted. Is it common for Japanese names to be a modified form of a character, as it appears to be in this case?